25.2 C
New York

Shehbaz Sharif elected Pak PM for 2nd time


NEW DELHI: PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif has been


the 24th prime minister of Pakistan after clinching

201 votes

, National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq announced on Sunday.

Omer Ayub Khan, the Imran Khan-backed PTI candidate for the premier, secured 92 votes.
Following the announcement, Shehbaz hugged his elder brother Nawaz Sharif, three-time former PM of Pakistan.

“When my quaid [brother] was elected the prime minister thrice, the development that followed in the country is an example of its own. And it is not wrong to say that Nawaz Sharif is the one who built Pakistan,” Shehbaz said in his victory speech.
Shehbaz also thanked his party’s allies, including the PPP, for putting their trust in him and making him the Leader of the House.
As Shehbaz spoke, PTI-backed lawmakers chanted slogans of ‘thief’ from the opposition benches.

The recently concluded general elections have been marred by allegations of mass vote rigging. Imran Khan’s PTI has alleged that several candidates of PML-N and PPP were declared winners despite other candidates securing most votes.
Many PTI leaders further condemned the election authorities for ‘stealing’ the people’s mandate.
Independent candidates – a majority backed by 71-year-old jailed former prime minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party – won 93 National Assembly seats. The PML-N won 75 seats while the PPP came third with 54 seats. The Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P) has 17 seats.
To form a government, a party must win 133 out of 265 contested seats in the 266-member National Assembly.

Related articles

Recent articles