10.8 C
New York

RS polls: Cross-voting by SP MLAs gives BJP stunning UP win


Rajya Sabha polls: Cross-voting by SP MLAs gives BJP stunning UP win

After the polling, at least half a dozen SP MLAs, including SP chief whip Manoj Pandey, Rakesh Pratap Singh and Abhay Singh were seen posing for photographs with Uttar Pradesh deputy CM Brajesh Pathak.

LUCKNOW: BJP registered a

stunning win


Rajya Sabha polls

in UP, winning eight of 10 seats, amid


by at least seven


. Lone BSP MLA, Uma Shankar Singh, too, voted in favour of BJP candidates – a sharp departure from the past when the Mayawati-led outfit preferred to abstain from voting.
The development was perceived as a blow to INDIA bloc, which has been positioning itself as a potent rival of BJP in LS polls due soon.

CM Yogi Adityanath, who was among the first to cast his vote on Tuesday, posted his congratulatory message on X: “Hope all winners will help fulfil PM Modi’s ‘antyodaya’ and ‘Viksit Bharat’ resolve.”
Eight BJP candidates, who had the support of 287 MLAs before voting started – including nine of RLD and two of Raja Bhaiyya’s Jansatta Dal Lok Tantrik – managed to get 294 votes, while the SP-Congress combine, which had a cumulative strength of 108, got 100 votes. The vote of SP MLA Shahjeel Islam was declared invalid.

The victorious candidates included former Congress MP RPN Singh, former Agra mayor Navin Jain, two former UP MLAs – Sangeeta Balwant & Sadhna Singh, BJPspokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi, former Mathura MP Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, UP BJP state general secretary Amar Pal Maurya and former MP Sanjay Seth, who defected from SP in 2019.
From the SP-Congress side, actor Jaya Bachchan and former MP Ramji Lal Suman emerged victorious.

After nine candidates – seven from BJP and two from SP – sailed through, the contest boiled down to 10th seat between BJP’s Sanjay Seth and SP’s Alok Ranjan. While Seth got 29 first preference votes, Ranjan managed 19.
Scales had started tilting in favour of BJP on Monday itself when nine RLD MLAs turned up in Lok Bhawan and joined the NDA camp for a meeting. This was followed by Raja Bhaiyya announcing his support to BJP. Late evening, the SP camp was left high and dry as half a dozen party MLAs did not turn up at the dinner hosted by party president Akhilesh Yadav.
A high-voltage drama unfolded on Tuesday as a host of SP MLAs started grouping in favour of saffron camp as voting started. SP chief whip and Unchahar MLA Manoj Pandey resigned from the post on Tuesday morning. This was followed by SP’s Rakesh Pratap Singh and Abhay Singh making claims that they would vote after listening to the voice of their ‘antaratma’.
Later, at least half a dozen SP MLAs including Pandey, Rakesh Pratap Singh and Abhay Singh were seen posing for photographs along with deputy CM Brajesh Pathak.
“It requires guts to stand up to ruling dispensation. Everyone knows that BJP can resort to any tactic to win an election,” said Akhilesh, asserting that the party would take strict action against all the MLAs who cross-voted.

Related articles

Recent articles