10.8 C
New York

Pawan Singh is BJP pick for Asansol: Who is the Bhojpuri singer


NEW DELHI: Popular Bhojpuri singer

Pawan Singh

, renowned for his mega-hit album ‘Lollipop Lagelu’, has been picked by the BJP to contest

Lok Sabha elections

from West Bengal’s


. This sets the stage for what could be an interesting contest between two popular actors in the region.
Pawan’s nomination is BJP’s attempt to capture the attention of voters and secure crucial constituencies in a state governed by Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC).

Bhojpuri industry’s ‘power star’
Popularly known as Bhojpuri industry’s power star, Pawan boasts a diverse musical portfolio and is known for chart-toppers like ‘Raja Ji’, ‘Hari Hari Odhni’ and ‘Pudina Ae Hasina’. He began his singing career with ‘Odhaniya Wali’ in 1997, experiencing a meteoric rise after the release of ‘Lollypop Lagelu’ in 2008. The song, which remains in top songs list till date, earned him the Best Male Singer award at the International Bhojpuri Film Awards in 2016.

Pawan, a native of Bihar’s Arrah, expressed gratitude to the BJP leadership for selecting him as the party’s candidate in Asansol through a post on the social platform X.

Actors’ face-off
Former BJP leader and singer Babul Supriyo previously held the Asansol seat, securing victories in 2014 and 2019 before defecting to the TMC. Asansol’s current representative is the veteran actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha, an incumbent MP from the TMC. While the party is yet to announce its candidate, the seat will witness a riveting contest between two candidates who have made significant contributions to their respective film industries if Shatrugan Sinha is nominated.

Responding to Pawan Singh’s candidature, Shatrughan Sinha remarked, “This is an internal affair of their party ( BJP). I have best wishes for everyone. Many here in Asansol believe that they (BJP) are looking out for not just themselves but for the opposition and TMC also. I congratulate them for this thinking.”
Bhojpuri stars shine in BJP’s List
The BJP on Saturday announced its much-awaited first list of 195 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Alongside many political stalwarts including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, home minister Amit Shah, Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, the list also featured several renowned Bhojpuri personalities apart from Pawan Singh. Manoj Tiwari, a prominent

Bhojpuri singer

and actor, secured the party’s nomination and is set to vie for the North East Delhi seat for the third consecutive time, making him the sole incumbent Member of Parliament to be re-nominated from Delhi.
Ravi Kishan, another well-known Bhojpuri figure, emerged on the list and will contest for the Gorakhpur seat in Uttar Pradesh, a constituency formerly represented by Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath. Dinesh Lal Yadav, a distinguished Bhojpuri actor and sitting Member of Parliament, will contest in the upcoming elections as the contender for Azamgarh.

Related articles

Recent articles