14.1 C
New York

LS polls: Congress releases first list of 36 candidates, Rahul to contest from Wayanad


HYDERABAD: The All India


Committee on Friday released the first list of candidates for 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in the states of Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Sikkim.

dfasdfas (1)

Congress MP

Rahul Gandhi

will again contest from


, a seat won by him in 2019. Of the total 39 candidates announced, 15 are from Kerala, six each from Karnataka and Chhattisgarh, four from Telangana. Two from Meghalaya and one each from Nagaland and Sikkim.
Of the four names announced from Telangana, one is a woman. Patnam Sunitha Mahender Reddy will contest from Chevella Lok Sabha seat. She is the wife of former minister Patnam Mahender Reddy of the BRS. She will take on ex-MP Konda Vishveshwar Reddy of the BJP in this constituency.

K Raghuveer Reddy, son of Congress veteran K Jana Reddy has been announced from Nalgonda Lok Sabha constituency. This is the second ticket to the family, with K Jaiveer Reddy, another son of Jana Reddy contesting and winning the Nagarjuna Sagar assembly seat in the 2023-election.

Former Union minister Porika Balram Naik will contest from Mahbubabad (ST reserved) constituency and Suresh Kumar Shetkar from Zahirabad.

Related articles

Recent articles