32.5 C
New York

CPI fields Annie Raja from Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi’s LS seat


NEW DELHI: The Communist Party of India (


), the second-largest coalition partner in Kerala’s ruling Left Democratic Front, has announced the names of its candidates for four crucial seats in the upcoming

Lok Sabha polls

Notably, senior party leader

Annie Raja

has been nominated to contest from the pivotal


constituency, a seat presently held by Congress leader

Rahul Gandhi


Party veteran and former MP Pannian Raveendran will contest from Thiruvananthapuram, another crucial seat represented by senior Congress leader Shashi Tharoor.
Former agriculture minister V S Sunil Kumar and the party’s youth wing AIYF’s leader C A Arunkumar will be fielded from Thrissur and Mavelikkara seats, respectively.

The Congress party is yet to announce their candidate in the constituency.
Gandhi represented the Amethi parliamentary seat in the Lok Sabha from 2004 to 2019. BJP leader Smriti Irani defeated Gandhi in Amethi in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.
Gandhi won the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Wayanad, the second seat he had contested.
(With inputs from agencies)

Related articles

Recent articles