BJP appoints new state presidents in organisational rejig

NEW DELHI: The BJP on Tuesday appointed new presidents for its units in four states in an organisational rejig ahead of key state elections and the 2024

Lok Sabha polls

G Kishan Reddy has been appointed as the BJP president of Telangana, D Purandeshwari as the state president of Andhra Pradesh, former CM Babulal Marandi is the new state president of Jharkhand and Sunil Jakhar is the party’s state president of Punjab.
Interestingly, Jakhar has previously served as the Congress’s state chief in Punjab. Jakhar replaces Ahwani Sharma while Marandi comes in the place of Deepak Prakash.
The BJP also announced the appointment of Eatala Rajender as the chairman of Election Management Committee in Telangana.

The development highlights the BJP’s emphasis to set its house in order in Telangana where many relatively new but powerful entrants to the party were against the leadership of outgoing chief Bandi Sanjay Kumar.
Sources said Kumar may be inducted as a minister in the central government in a reshuffle in the coming days.
Elections are due in Telangana later this year.
There has been talk of an organisational reshuffle in the party amid a flurry meetings chaired by BJP president JP Nadda, Union home minister Amit Shah and general secretary (organisation) B L Santosh.

The announcement comes a day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi chaired a meeting of the Council of Ministers in the national capital.
(With inputs from agencies)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *