15.4 C
New York

BJD list out: CM to contest for 6th term; Birla ex-exec for Lok Sabha



Naveen Patnaik

will seek re-election from Hinjili for a record sixth term, BJD announced Wednesday as it named candidates for 15

Lok Sabha

and 72 assembly constituencies ahead of simultaneous polls in four phases from May 13 to June 1.
BJD nominated Santrupt Mishra, former HR head of Aditya Birla Group, for


parliamentary seat.

Santrupt joined BJD in Feb after opting for voluntary retirement from Aditya Birla Group, which donated more than Rs 250 crore in electoral bonds to the party.
He was speculated to contest from Cuttack, after six-time MP Bhartruhari Mahtab resigned from BJD. Sources said Mahtab may seek re-election from Cuttack.
Odisha comprises 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly seats. BJD has replaced 10 of 15 LS candidates from its 2019 roster, including 6 sitting MPs.

Mumbai’s ex-CP Arup Patnaik pitted against Sambit Patra in Puri
A diverse line-up of candidates, including a former top cop, a doctor, a hockey player, and a software engineer, has been unveiled by BJD for LS and assembly polls. Former Mumbai police commissioner Arup Patnaik will contest from Puri against BJP’s Sambit Patra. Patnaik, who lost the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Bhubaneswar, aims to secure victory this time.

BJD general secretary (organisation) Pranab Prakash Das has been nominated to contest against Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan of BJP in Sambalpur Lok Sabha seat, setting the stage for a high-stakes political showdown. Das, a three-time MLA from Jajpur and former minister, enjoys close ties with Naveen and his key associate V K Pandian. Sambalpur has historically been a BJP stronghold. In 2019, BJP’s Nitesh Ganga Deb defeated BJD’s Nalini Pradhan.
Manmath Routray, son of Congress veteran Suresh Routray, joined BJD and will contest from Bhubaneswar. His political debut is anticipated to leverage his father’s influence in Jatani, a key constituency.
Dilip Tirkey, president of Hockey India, aims for victory in Sundargarh after an unsuccessful attempt in 2014. Abhinash Samal, a doctor who recently joined BJD, will contest from Dhenkanal Lok Sabha seat. Arabinda Mohapatra, a software engineer and son of senior BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra, will contest from Patkura. His father’s bitter exit from BJD in 2000 adds intrigue to his candidacy.

Chinmayananda Srirup Deb, son of minister Usha Devi, has been fielded from Chikiti, the seat represented by his mother for five terms. BJD nominated Biplab Patro, son of former minister SN Patro, from Digapahandi, following the senior Patro’s passing last Sept. In Puri assembly seat, the party named Sunil Mohanty, son of former minister Maheswar Mohanty, following his father’s death in Nov last year.

Related articles

Recent articles