Three major non-BJP parties – BSP, JD(S) and TDP – distanced themselves on Thursday from the 20-strong opposition bloc’s proposed boycott of the new


building’s inauguration, with former UP CM Mayawati denouncing the move as “improper” and ex-PM H D

Deve Gowda

declaring that “Parliament is not the office of BJP or RSS” that it can be trifled with.
“BSP has always risen above party politics to support the government at the Centre on matters related to the country and public welfare, be it Congress or BJP at the helm,” Mayawati, the BSP chief, tweeted.
“I have received an invitation to the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building, although I won’t be able to attend the function due to some scheduled party meetings,” she said.
JD(S) patriarch Deve Gowda confirmed his participation in the ceremony in his capacity “as a former PM and a citizen of the country”.

“Many people have asked me whether I will attend the function or not. As a person committed to the Constitution, I am going,” the 91-year-old said, a day after a clutch of parties that include Congress, TMC, DMK, AAP, RJD, JD(U), NCP and SP announced the boycott.
“This magnificent (new Parliament) building was built using taxpayers’ money, and it belongs to the people of the country,” Deve Gowda said.
In Andhra Pradesh, N Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP became the second major party after CM Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSRCP to announce it would be part of the inauguration. Naidu deputed

Rajya Sabha


Kanakamedala Ravindrakumar

to attend the event as TDP’s representative.
Telangana CM K Chandrashekar Rao’s BRS officially remained undecided on whether to attend the ceremony, but party insiders said it was inclined towards a boycott.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *